Skip to content ↓

Local Academy Board

The Local Academy Board of Waterfront UTC:

  • David Giles (Chair and Safeguarding Governor)
  • Spencer Bennett (Head of School and Staff Governor)
  • Stuart Ashenden (University of Greenwich)
  • Lee Penford (BAE Systems)
  • Frances Akinde (Co-opted)
  • Amanda Cadman (Parent)
  • Dorothy Kamusoko (Parent)
  • Ms C Reid (Executive Headteacher)

Terms of Reference for the Local Academy Board can be found here.

To contact Waterfront UTC’s Chair of Governors please email: t.kington@waterfront-that.org.uk

For details of the Members and Directors of The Howard Academy Trust, please click here.

Name Relevant Business & Pecuniary Interests (including governance roles in other education institutions) Attendance record at meetings for the academic year ('20-'21)
David Giles (Chair)
Appointed: 28/09/20

The Howard Academy Trust: Director
Deanwood Primary: Chair of Governors
Temple Mill Primary: Governor
Thames View Primary: Governor
Temple Mill Primary: Daughter is Deputy Head
Barclays Bank: Retired

5 of 5
Stuart Ashenden (Governor)
Appointed: 01/04/19
Medway Education Business Partnership: Director 5 of 5
Lee Penford (Governor)
Appointed: 01/04/19
BAE Systems: Governor 0 of 5
Spencer Bennett (Head of School)
Appointed: 01/04/19
Nil 5 of 5
Frances Akinde (Co-opted Governor)
Appointed: 16/12/20
Rivermead School: Headteacher 3 of 3
Amanda Cadam (Parent Governor)
Appointed: 04/02/21
Nil 3 of 3
Dorothy Kamusoko (Parent Governor)
Appointed: 04/02/21
Nil 2 of 3
Ms C Reid (Executive Headteacher) Inspiring Change Academy: Director N/A
Owen McColgan (CEO THAT/Accounting Officer) Medway Academy of Performing Arts
(Partner from 03/01/2020)
Inspiring Change MAT
(Member from 12/12/2018)
Featherby Infants & Junior School
(Governor from 08/09/2020)
Past Governors
Tina Lovey (Governor)
Appointed: 10/06/19
Resigned: 14/12/20
Rivermead Inclusive Trust: Education (No Direct Involvement) 0 of 1
Mark Stephenson (Governor)
Appointed: 16/09/19
Resigned: 13/03/20
RSME: WUTC Sponsor  
Tammy Clark (Parent Governor)
Appointed: 16/12/19
Resigned: 31/03/20
UR Fantastic Ltd: Director Not on meeting minutes as attending
Paul Cottam (Principal)
Appointed: 01/04/19
Resigned: 18/04/21
Ex-officio by virtue of office as headteacher/principal  2 of 2
Louise Brenlund (Governor)
Appointed: 01/04/19
Resigned: 24/03/21
Nil 2 of 2
James Nunn (Governor)
Appointed: 01/04/19
Resigned: 28/03/21
Nil 2 of 2